Finalists Announced for Induction into Poker Hall of Fame

Here is the final list of the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame inductees.

The finalists of the Poker Hall of Fame have finally been announced. Not too long ago, the World Series of Poker announced that it had settled in the 10 names that have been nominated for this year’s induction into the Poker Hall of Fame. The names of nominees consist of a mixture of poker legends that have years of experience under their belts, as well as several newcomers that have been making waves in the professional poker circles.

Typically, WSOP asks poker fans to nominate their selections which is how the well-known poker brand settled on the 10 names on the list. 7 of those picked for the induction process have been nominated before. However, 3 of the nominees made it to the list for the first time, which was quite an honor indeed.

Those that have been nominated include:

  • Bertrand ‘ElkY’ Grospellier

Grospellier, who is popularly known as Elky is a French professional poker player and former esports athlete. At 41, he is one of the few professionals to boast a Triple Crown consisting of two World Series of Poker bracelets, a World Poker Tour championship, as well as a European Poker Tour title. 

In addition to this long list of accolades, Grsopellier is also a Guinness World Record holder. Grospellier is also a valued member of the GGPoker team having signed with the brand in 2020. This is the second time that Elky has been included in the Hall of Fame nominee list.

  • Lon McEachern and Norman Chad

Lon McEachern and Norman Chad is the only pair to be nominated in this year’s Poker Hall of Fame nominee list. McEachern and Chad have been providing concise, informative, yet funny commentary on poker events since 2003, when the pair first appeared in a poker coverage broadcast together.

Before becoming one of the most recognized voices in poker commentary, McEachern was working as a mortgage banker before he was approached by ESPN to cover poker competitions. Chad, on the other hand, was already a respected and syndicated sportswriter and columnist before he gave his first WSOP commentary in 2003.

When Chris Moneymaker made history by winning the WSOP Main Event in 2003, the pair narrated the events. Not only are they a vital part of poker’s history but they are also one of the most beloved voices in the sportscasting world.

  • Isai Scheinberg
2022 WSOP Schedule Released; 88 Live Bracelet Events, Vax Requirement Out

Isai Scheinberg is the founder of one of the most popular online poker platforms in the world- PokerStars. Scheinberg was first nominated in 2020. He was the main driving force for PokerStars’ growth between 2001 and 2014 when the brand was sold off to a group of investors. A lot of poker experts agree that the world of competitive poker would not be what it is today without Isai Scheinberg.

  • Mike Matusow

Matusow has been nominated several times for the Poker Hall of Fame. His first win came in 1999 when he won his first WSOP bracelet in his career and $265,475 to boot. In 2001, he finished 6th but claimed his second WSOP bracelet a year later when he beat poker legend Daniel Negreanu.

  • Michael Mizrachi

Michael Mizrachi is one of the most recognized names in professional poker and the younger brother of another poker great, Robert Mizrachi. Mizrachi won his first bracelet in 2010 during a $50,000 Poker Player championship that saw him take home $1,559,046. For this first bracelet, Mizrachi outlasted and outplayed poker legend Vladimir Shchemelev. His second bracelet followed a year later at WSOP Europe where he won the €10,400 No-Limit Hold’em and a cash prize of €336,008.

  • Josh Arieh

This is the first time Arieh has been nominated for the Poker Hall of Fame. Arieh has been playing professional poker since 1997. The 47-year-old doubled his bracelets last year and has already cashed in more than 6 times in 2022. As such, he now boasts 73 total cashes since he kicked off his career, as well as more than $10 million in tournament winnings.

  • Kathy Liebert
World Series of Poker Celebrates Second-Largest Main Event

Kathy is one of the 3 nominees on this list that have been nominated for the first time. Kathy is one of the most experienced female poker players of her time. Although she has already been inducted into the Women in Poker Hall of Fame, this is her first nomination in the iconic list. 

  • Brian Rast

Brian Rast is also a first-time Poker Hall of Fame nominee. The Colorado native took part in his first WSOP tournament in 2005. Since then, his career has grown from strength to strength. His dedication paid off in 2011 when he walked away with 2 bracelets. His first was earned in the $1,500 Pot-Limit Hold’em, which rewarded him with $227,232. 

The second bracelet came when he took part in the $50,000 Poker Player’s Championship, which allowed him to take home approximately $1,720,328. So far, he has accumulated winnings that amount to $6,800,669.

  • Matt Savage

Savage has been nominated multiple times since he was first inducted in 2003. He has been instrumental in the growth of poker since it was first legalized and even witnessed the infamous poker boom. Today, he is the Executive Director of the World Poker Tour, a position that he has held since 2010.

  • Layne Flack

The great late Layne Flack was also commonly referred to as “Back-to-Back Flack. Flack passed away last year and will therefore be recognized posthumously. Flack was a 6-time bracelet winner and is one of the greatest poker players in the game.

Final Thoughts

For a player to be nominated, they must be at least 40 years old and must have taken part in an established and recognized poker competition. The nominees must also have played in several high-stakes tournaments and performed well thus gaining the respect of peers. For non-poker players to make it to the nomination list, they must have contributed to the overall success and growth of the burgeoning poker industry and must have left lasting results.

To pick the winners, each of the 32 living members of the Poker Hall of Fame will have to vote on who gets in. Every member of the Hall of Fame has 10 points to allocate between the nominees based on their opinions and judgments. Out of the nominees, only one will make the cut.  It should be noted, however, that because MacEachern and Chad have been nominated as a duo, they will both be inducted as one entry.